About Langtang, Helambu and Panch Pokhari

The Langtang region, with the stunning Helambu, Panch Pokhari and Bhairav Kund trekking areas is perhaps the most accessible trekking region in Nepal, lying just north of Kathmandu. You can walk straight from Kathmandu into this region, yet here you can still experience intact and unique cultures living in some of the most beautiful scenery in Nepal.

The area is dominated by Langtang Lirung (7246m), the highest peak in the area and is home to unique cultures and holy lakes which are the sacred pilgrimage sites of Hindus, Buddhist and Shamans. If you come from Kathmandu via Helambu you can stay with Helambu Sherpa families, of the same origin as the famous Sherpas of the Everest region, but separated for so long that they no longer speak the same dialect. Higher up, at Panch Pokhari (Five Lakes), Bhairav Kund (Lake of Lord Bhairav) and Gosainkund you can experience ancient festivals at times of the full moon, practised by Hindus, but also sacred to Buddhists and Tamang Shamans.

The Langtang National Park is one of Nepal’s largest covering 1710 square kilometres. It is home to the red panda, wild boar, Himalayan black bear, ghoral, grey langur monkey and leopard. The park is also the home for Impeyan, Tragopan and kalij pheasants among others. Larch, a rare deciduous conifer, is also found in the forest of lower Langtang Valley. Further up, beyond Langshish karka, Himalayan tahr, musk deer and snow leopard can be found.

If you come up to the Region from Kathmandu, then trekking here is your chance to connect with local Tamang, and Helambu Sherpa culture in homestays and basic tea houses in the lower sections, where you get local food and great hospitality! Higher up you will be camping in stunning scenery and need to be prepared from the high passes of this section. The landscape ranges from magnificent Rhododendron forests, to alpine meadows and yak pastures, to wild rivers and throughout you have spectacular views of mountains in Tibet and the Jugal Himal section of the Himalayan Range, which includes the peaks of Dorje Lakpa (6966), Madiya (6257M) and Phurbi Ghhyachu (6637m).

One Response to “About Langtang, Helambu and Panch Pokhari”

  1. Anonymous says:

    Really informative blog.Really thank you! Will read on

Leave a Reply